Brookgreen Gardens and why it’s awesome!

This past spring A friend and I went to Brookgreen Gardens, in short, it is a beautiful giant sculpture garden full of nature’s beauty and artistic sculpture creation. More importantly (in my eyes) they have a lowcountry zoo in the back!  It’s the only zoo on the coast of North and South Carolina that is accredited by the AZA.  What’s the AZA ( Association of Zoos and Aquariums )?

The AZA is America’s most respected organization for zoos and aquariums and accredits only those institutions that have achieved rigorous standards for animal care, education, wildlife conservation and science.

Brookgreen is so awesome!

Let’s take one thing at a time, let’s start with the flowers.

Flowers
They have a beautiful variety of flowers as well as oak trees overhanging the sidewalks.  Walking through the grounds, I feel like I’m about to see one of Jane Austen’s characters walking about in the distance.  You really feel like you’re walking around on an old english family’s property.

Oak trees

Oak trees providing shade.

So many photographic opportunities!

So many photographic opportunities!

Poppies!!! Yayy!

Poppies!!! Yayy!

Statues
The statues sizes range from 2 feet off the ground to about 20 feet off the ground. Each are placed around the grounds with there own garden arrangement. My words do them absolutely no justice so here’s some pictures.

It’s also fun to pose with them!  We got some disapproving looks from some biddies for these:

Becca with Statue

Becca with Statue

Myself with Statue

Myself with Statue

Giant Statue

Giant Statue

There are different corridors and paths that lead away from the main sidewalk and it feels you’ll be discovered at any moment!

Secret-ish corridor

Secret-ish corridor

Animals

Brookgreen Garden’s animals are well looked after and their enclosures are beautifully designed and spacious!  They have two aviaries that you can walk through, with different species of birds (they leave you alone), they have horses, sheep, foxes, otters, butterfly house and there’s more but I can’t possibly get them all listed!  My favorite were the otters, they are so cute!  Becca and I had to walk by them twice because we couldn’t leave without seeing them again and I still feel the need to drive all the way back there to see them again!

We made a friend... Larry

We made a friend… Larry

I made another friend... Frank

I made another friend… Frank

Butterfly

Butterfly

Attack turkeys
Becca and I were awaiting the deer to come out of hiding so we could take pictures when I thought I kept hearing a walking type noise in the woods behind us.  Becca thought I was crazy but lo and behold here come two giant (and I mean giant) turkeys of the woods running towards us. Side note, running turkey’s remind me of running velociraptors, so I was essentially having a nightmare in real life. Anyways, as they’re running and I’m cursing, they take flight, jump the fence and down into the deer enclosure they go. Turkeys = 1 , Madison = 0.

Oh &*$#@

Oh &*$#@

Take off!

Take off!

I suggest going to visit Brookgreen Gardens in the spring when everything is blooming, or in the fall when the trees are changing.  It’s in a great location near Myrtle Beach South Carolina and not very expensive to get in!

4 thoughts on “Brookgreen Gardens and why it’s awesome!

  1. Pingback: Too tired… Look at these flowers! | MadisonHug

Leave a Reply

