“It is finished”

As part of my “quiet time” (time set aside for God) I read a passage from the Jesus Calling devotional and today’s entry reminded me of this past March.  This past March I graduated from school but I know that I couldn’t have done it on my own at all.

The passage from Jesus Calling said:

Sometimes the way before you appears to be blocked.  If you focus on the obstacle or search for a way around it, you will probably go off course.  Instead, focus on Me, the Shepherd who is leading you along your life-journey.  Before you know it, the “obstacle” will be behind you and you will hardly know how you passed through it.

I hardly knew how I got through on my own.  I remember praying and incorporating God’s Presence every step, every test, and all study sessions.  I know everyone says “College was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do” and I’m joining that band wagon and saying the same thing.  My major was web design and development and I joined the online fast track program.  You took one class at a time, each class was 4 weeks long and there were finals every Friday.  School was all year round, spring and summer breaks were one week and Christmas two weeks.  That’s it.  I am 21 years old and I completed a Bachelor’s degree, which should take four years, in two and a half years.  I truly don’t know how I got through it but by the grace of God and it was definitely an obstacle that I could not go around, but through.

I still have moments now when I have to do a gut check to see if I’ve actually graduated.  Sometimes I feel that this is a dream and I’m about to wake up and still have to give one-thousand percent in order to get by one more week.

Now that I’ve explained the pain that I endured for my degree.  I will now show you how spectacular my graduation week was.  My graduation week worked out to be my brother’s spring break.  The campus of my school (I attended online) is in Winter Park Florida.  So for the whole week we stayed about an hour away on a lake ranch:

Our view from the apartment (there's a main house off to the right.)

Our view from the apartment (there’s a main house off to the right.)

Me and the horses

This property had horses that I visited every morning.

Morning of Graduation

Pre-Graduation. We are getting ready to leave!!!

Can’t believe that day finally came!

It's so weird to see my name so big!

It’s so weird to see my name so big!

Post-Graduation! All done, finally!

My wonderful parents and brother were amazing support through it all and I mean ALL.

Myself, parents and my brother

Myself, parents and my brother

Check out my post tomorrow to see what I swam with during the week of my graduation…

3 thoughts on ““It is finished”

  1. “College was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do.” I’ll ride that band wagon with you! And you did it all in 2.5 years?! That’s amazing.

    How great the Father’s love is for us! This post was an awesome reminder of that. You look so happy in your graduation pictures =)

  2. Pingback: What two animals did God mix together to create this…? | MadisonHug

Leave a Reply

