What two animals did God mix together to create this…?

Manatees… What two animals did God mix up to get this creation.  Don’t get me wrong, God doesn’t make mistakes, so I know manatees have a reason and purpose.  But boy are they weird!!!

While I was in Florida for graduation, we were close to the Crystal River, so we spent a day with the manatees!

My brother had a cold and my mom stayed behind with him 😦 So it was just my dad and I, but this is also an excuse to go back because mom and Parker missed out!

Even though Crystal River is a spring and is always 72 degrees, it was March and the air was 52 degrees.  Wetsuits for everyone!

My dad all ready!

My dad all ready!

Just a few pictures taking with my iPhone.  The boat that took us out was awesome, it was private, just my dad and I and the captain’s wife got in the water with us to take pictures!

Taking a breath

Momma and baby!

Momma and baby!

Here are the pictures she took!

Gearing up and about to jump in!

Gearing up and about to jump in!

All goggled up!

All goggled up!

Just keep swimming

Just keep swimming

They kind of feel like underwater elephants of sorts.  It’s hard to pinpoint exactly what animal they remind me of, except that they are perfectly capable of being their own amazing creature.

They feel so awesome!

They feel so awesome!

I was glad that she got in the water with us to take pictures.  I was carrying around a small underwater disposable camera but those pictures are so awful!

Super up close!

They are really curious if they feel like coming up to you.  They’ll check out your face and clothes.  If you scratch their bellies they’ll flip upside down, which is a little terrifying, but so cute!

Slightly cold.. just slightly

Slightly cold.. just slightly

The ride back was so cold!  It was fine in water, but getting out of the water to then sit wet on a moving boat for thirty minutes.

One thought on “What two animals did God mix together to create this…?

Leave a Reply

